Posted by: allaboutcheryl | July 29, 2017

Motivated or Not

Motivation: noun, the general desire or willingness of someone to do something.When I read or hear about the achievements or the accomplishments of others, I think, “Wow! What about me? Why can’t I do something like that?” Then I put that thought behind me, as I log into my Facebook account or play UpWords to spend several hours of mindless, unproductive time.

I want to be motivated. I can be motivated for a minute. But I want to stay motivated. I want to finish something. I want to see my ideas blossom, grow and cumulate into a finished project. 

But I get distracted. I lose interest sometimes. I’m not always sure what to do next. Or I have too many things going on at one time.

So, I’ll make a list to keep me organized. Then I’ll check my list. Next, I’ll make a list to make sure I check my list. I carry over my unfinished items to the next day to and make them a priority. I can spend so much time checking and managing my lists that I lose sight of what I’m supposed to be doing.

What I want to do is write.

I love writing.

I have a novel, that after seven years, I’ve finally finished all my edits. I have a graphic artist who is working on my cover. But I need to be other things. I need to get copyrighted and I need an ISBN number. I have things that I need to do…I just need to get off my duff and do them. 

I also need to practice my reading and writing. But, I’ve gotten so hooked on reading what other people have published, that at the end of the day, I’m too tired and not motivated enough to do any writing of my own.

…sigh…

Leave a Reply

Categories

