Posted by: allaboutcheryl | July 21, 2017

Reinventing Me: Renewed!

Isaiah 57:10, “You were tired out by the length of your road, Yet you did not say, ‘It is hopeless.’ You found renewed strength, Therefore you did not faint.” 

This is a very good and on time word for me. I’ve been on the South Beach Diet 11 days. I should have lost something by now…but I haven’t. I was feeling very frustrated. I do need to lose weight, that’s for sure, but it is more about a change in my eating style.

Yes, I would like to be in a smaller clothing size. But the more important goal is for my body to be healthy. To eliminate or greatly reduce the things that are harming me now or could harm me in the future. I want to take of my body, which is the temple of the Holy Spirit (1Cor. 6:19).

The other day, I received the results of my last blood work and my A1C has gone up. It is now 6.0. That concerns me greatly, being that my mom had diabetes and my younger sister has it. I can’t let that number go higher. I need to do things NOW to bring it back down.

I have some factors that are already against me. Age. Weight. Hypertension. Ethnicity. High Cholesterol. Family History. Physical Activity.

BUT! I have some control! Over my weight, which can help reduce the effects of HBP and high cholesterol. I have control over how much I exercise.

Being on Phase One of the South Beach Diet, has eliminated carbohydrates and sugars from my diet

  • I go to the gym or walk several times a week.
  • I eat a heartsmart diet
  • I am already taking some positive steps!

Sooo…

I am rejuvenated. I am refocused. I am determined.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

