Posted by: allaboutcheryl | August 4, 2016

Persnickety Weight Loss, Day 60, August 4, 2016

Even though I have not posted for a while about this persnickety journey of mine, I am faithfully and actively pursuing it. So, here’s the update.

While, I was in Georgia with my daughter, initially, all I could track was the number of calories consumed, the number of steps walked and how many minutes of active exercising that I did on a daily basis.

Then, the last week before I left she bought a scale! HIP! HIP! HOORAY!

But, I wasn’t sure how these numbers would match up with my scales at home. So I only use her scales for a daily status check.

When I got home, I weighed myself and ironically, I weighed the same amount as to when I left 50 days before.

I continued to do my walking and monitor my steps as well as count my calories. I found a new article of too tight clothing to use as my pant-o-meter (now, I realize that I am repeating myself from a previous post…).

And this is all paying off! I am fluctuating between seven to three pounds of lost weight! WooHoo!! I am so excited, so geeked! I have not seen my weight this low in more than 1-1/2 to 2 years!

I am so determined to keep this weight off! I am tired of losing the same three pounds over and over and over again. I mean really, I’ve lost those three pounds so many times that I should be way under my desired weight!

What I am doing is this….and before I say it…again, don’t judge me. I know that I tend to lead a sedentary life style, so what I am doing is a BIG improvement for me. And if any of you have been reading my blogs for a while, you may remember me mentioning that I had bilateral hip replacement surgeries about four years ago. Anyway, with those disclaimers out of the way. I walk ninety minutes a day; sixty in the morning and thirty in the afternoon. I try to walk five days a week. Sometimes I am able to do sixty minutes on Saturday. And even rarer, I cam get in some time on Sunday. But my goal is to get in at least 10,000 steps a day. Everyday, I try to do 80 sit-ups in the bed. Doing them on the bed is a lot easier on my back. Then on Monday, Wednesday and Friday, I do strength exercises to tone my arms.

I am not looking to win any body building contest. I just want to stop or slow down some of the jiggle.

As far as what I eat or don’t eat: I am still aiming at 1000 calories or less a day. Since I’ve been back home, this is a little harder to do. I am eating less bread. Drinking more water. I am not to the point of drinking half my weight in ounces of water…but I am aiming for it. I have almost eliminated pop or carbonated beverages from my diet and the big thing for me…I have cut way back on catsup, which I really, really love. 

When I eat fries, I have more catsup than potatoes. I dip my burgers into a pool of catsup and when I eat broasted chicken….well it is not complete without dunking it into catsup.

This has been and is difficult for me. I guess I am too addicted to all of the sugars in the catsup. So, like I said, I am doing better. Food just doesn’t taste the same though…

Well, time to walk again. It’s almost 4pm and I only have 6,735 steps.

See you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Categories

