Posted by: allaboutcheryl | July 14, 2016

South Beach Diet, Day 27

Okay. So I’ve gone past the really strict 14 days of eating basically vegetables and protein. It was hard but I did it. I still can’t weigh myself, my daughter doesn’t have a bathroom scale…but one of my readers told me about the Pants-o-meter test and I tried it. OMG!! By the second week, I was able to zip the capris that alluded me before. True I still have a muffin top and a flabby stomach. But the pants were zipped and I could still breathe!!So, now I am to the point where I can add SOME complex carbs and fruit back to my diet. I need to really watch that, because complex carbs and fruit have a lot of calories. But let me tell you, on Day 15, I had a bowl of oatmeal with raisins. Mmm! Mmm! Mmm! It was sooo good! It was like what my mother used to call, eating ice cream! 

I am still basically eating mostly vegetables and protein, but I also dropped my caloric intake to 1000 calories a day (Don’t judge me…) I need to get a jump start on this. Tomorrow, I get to do the pants-o-meter test again. I’ve been taking pictures of my progress. Sorry, I can’t post those…

One of my concerns is when I get back home, next week, will I still be able to be so vigilant? Will I still maintain my resolve? My determination? But I have to. I can’t base my diet, good or bad, on where I am. I know what to eat and what not to eat. This is a lifestyle change. I can do this. 

(I’m watching Jaws (the movie) while writing. The movie is old and corny, but I love the beach and the ocean. It reminds me so much of being in Myrtle Beach. I can’t wait to go back there…!)

Where was I?

Anyway, what I’ve noticed is if I’m busy or occupied, I don’t think about snacking.

When I’m bored, I start looking around the kitchen and pantry to eat. 

When I’m upset or angry, I want to eat something. 

At certain times of the day, I think that I should be eating something. 

So, I’ve been drinking more water. They, the experts, say to do that. When you think that you’re hungry, you’re usually thirsty. Right now, I’m sipping on a cup of tepid black coffee. 

Exercise.

Well, the only thing that I’ve been doing, now that all of the packing and unpacking and deep cleaning is over, is walking. It’s way too hot to walk outside, so I have my track inside the house and I try to walk about 60-90 minutes a day. 

OK. It’s two-thirty. Time to walk some more. 

Responses

  1. I went for along walk and then spent time doing yard work. I am also getting my weight back to a healthier number so I relate to your journey. Keep at it. I have to get back into some of my snug clothes and they will feel better as I lose weight! I remember psalm 139 – fearfully and wonderfully made – when I get discouraged.

    • One of the many benefits of summer/warm weather, is the opportunity to get outside and commune with nature while burning a few calories. There nothing like yard-work; planting flowers, weeding, trimming shrubs or taking long brisk walks to help you feel good about yourself, releasing those endorphins as well as accomplishing a task, or meeting a goal. Keep up the good work!


Leave a Reply

Categories

