Posted by: allaboutcheryl | July 9, 2016

Is it Christmas?

2 Peter 3:8a NRSV, “But do not ignore this one fact, beloved, that with the Lord one day is like a thousand years…”

My time, however, feels like a kid waiting for Christmas. 

Is it Christmas, yet?

Is it ever coming?

Is it Christmas?

I’m jumping up and down. I know this is a very special day. Much anticipated. Filled with presents, food and family. A day filled with laughter, noise and talk. A day filled with surprises, wishes answered and hopes fulfilled. 

While my parents are wisely smiling, knowing that Christmas is on its way. It comes every year on December 25th without fail. It has not been delayed. It is just not the right time. Not yet.

I eventually get it. 

And it’s the same with me in waiting on the Lord. As I grew, matured, got closer to the Lord. I begin to understand the concept, the faith, the trust of waiting on Him. For the right time. The right season. The right moment. 

But…I am not completely there. I am learning to have patience, more patience for the Lord. I read my Bible. I know the scriptures. I pray to the Lord. But the child in me, the immature person, is still anxiously waiting and watching. I know what I prayed for. What I am asking the Lord for. I’ve read His promises in His word. I’ve seen His blessings to others…and I am ready for mine, my time, my hopes and desires.

There are things in my life that make me ask, “is it Christmas?”

Leave a Reply

Categories

