Posted by: allaboutcheryl | June 21, 2016

South Beach Diet, Day 4

Why am I doing this? What is my real motivation?

Initially, I thought that I had a two prong answer.

Of course, I want to be healthy. I know that so many ailments, illnesses and diseases can be reduced or eliminated by what we do or do not put into our mouths. I want to eliminate or reduce the amounts of medication that I am taking. I really do. But my emotions win out over my reason…so here I am.

The second reason is vanity. Or maybe it isn’t. No…it’s probably vanity. I want to look nice in my clothes. I want to wear a smaller size. I want to look and feel neat in what I am wearing.

And recently, I’ve discovered a third reason for losing weight.

Because I am such a persnickety person, I have many journals, both paper and electronic, documenting past (failed) diets (attempts at lifestyle changes). And the weight that I was. 

When I see how much less I weighed then…I wonder what happened and how can I get back to at least that point, and then beyond.

So I have these three goals that I need to work on.

Other than being pregnant, I am not used to carrying around this much weight. 

I have a gut. Not a belly or love handles, or a muffin prop. No cutesy names for this thing. It’s a droopy gut. I got it while we did five months of traveling last year (see mybucketlisttravels.wordpress.com).

I thought I was doing ok. I was out walking everyday. But I guess it wasn’t enough and plus, I was eating too much.

It additional to the gut, I came back home, over thirty pounds away from my desired weight. Since returning, I’ve lost ten pounds. But at this rate, it will take me almost three and a half years to lose this weight.

NO! It has to go now!

OK…lets go back to my motivational reasons. Again, first and foremost, I want to be healthy. I want to be at the appropriate weight for my age, height and bone structure. I want to eat foods that will help my body, not hinder it. I want to eat the right amount f foods to sustain me and my lifestyle. And I want to get off of the medicines that I have to take for HBP and high cholesterol. 

I want my life back.

But I also want to look good.

Don’t get me wrong. I am not a diva. No Fashionista here. And I am not high maintenance. But I like shopping. I like classic, tailored styles. I like bright colors. And I like way I look, when an outfit is put together just right. So, if someone said to me, “But Cheryl, hat f we could instantly make all of your ailments go away, but you would still be the same size for the rest of your life. Wouldn’t you be OK with that?” 

Of course!!!!! But sometime inside of me, would still like to see a lot less of me!

I want my style back!

I always enjoy a good trip down memory lane. But when it stops at my old haunts. And I see that I’m 10, 15 even twenty pound lighter. It does make me feel a little sad. How did I let this happen? Didn’t I notice when some my clothes being donated; not because there were worn out. Oooh no! It was because the clothes were getting too small.

I want my body back.

I am determined to do this.

No cheating.

No rest days.

No giving up and throwing in the towel.

Look, if I could do the South Beach Diet in the past, it was about 13 years ago, and lose twenty five pounds, I can and will do it again!!!

Responses

  1. You can do it! I used SBD to lose 70+ pounds 15 years ago and I kept the pounds off for over 11 years. Medications, lack of exercise, eating and drinking put me back at 50+ pounds over. Not good! I AM vain. I hope to join you in the coming weeks!

    • LOL!! Vanity can be a big motivator! I can’t wait for you join me in this endeavor. We will encourage each other!

  2. Hi Cheryl, I identified so much with your post. I discovered food journals from 2012 and also tried every ‘diet’ under the sun. In my quest to shift the pounds I have found one truth – that it doesn’t matter how much ‘action’ you take, if the mindset is one of self deprecation and criticism. (Believe me – I was my own biggest critic!) It is all about how we feel and our mindset. If we are rejecting any part of our self (ie. extra weight) then inevitably, we will never feel fulfilled. And so we fill up on foods instead – and beat ourselves up when our willpower ‘fails’ again. We need to sack the criticizer within and replace it with a voice of acceptance and love. When we love ourselves as we are – we automatically want to care for our bodies and feed it with meals that heal and not harm. Our bodies, when loved, can do miraculous things with least effort. It’s in it’s early days yet, but I have started a second blog here about health and wellness https://hayleyjadegledhill.wordpress.com/ I am passionate about helping people because I see so many people going through what I went through for years. I share healthy recipes (always good for some inspiration) but also tips to heal from the inside out. More content to come I promise! I wish you the best on your journey towards health! And remember – don’t be too hard on yourself xx

    • Thank you so much for these words of encouragement and advice. I appreciate them all. You are so true about having the proper mindset. This is true for any major undertaking, including or especially when it comes to wanting to lose weight. My goal in life is to live healthier. To have better eating habits and to do more exercising. If I can do this and my weight didn’t change, so be it. I will be happy and content with the size that I am. But; I believe that in doing these things, the weight needs to come off to reduce the pressure on my knees.
      This entire weight-loss, maintaining a healthy lifestyle is such a three prong process of mind, body and soul where each of these components play such an integral part in the overall and eventual success, that it is necessary to address them as well.
      I did check out your other blog as well.
      Thanks again.

      • You’re right about the holistic approach that’s needed – I’ve only recently come to understand how integral this is to any lasting transformation and am still teaching myself to practice these principles myself. Whilst outwardly, the change in only minor so far – inwardly, these practices of self love and self care have prevented my all out binges (something I was prone to previously on a weekly or fortnightly basis) I just don’t feel right putting those foods in my body anymore and can’t remember the last time I ate sugar or bread! This for me is a huge breakthrough 😉 Mirror work by Louise Hay has been a great book to help me with this. Thank you again for sharing such an honest and relatable post! Best of luck xx


Leave a Reply

Categories

