Posted by: allaboutcheryl | June 13, 2016

Am I a Writer?


I am in the ‘near’ final process of finishing my first novel to have it published. It has taken me almost ten years to get to this point. I am also in the process of writing two other novels.But…

Sometimes, it’s hard for me to get in the mood to write. 

Sometimes, I don’t want to write.

Sometimes, I don’t know what to write. 

Am I a writer?

I feel like I am lacking discipline.

I feel like, sometimes, writing is a chore.

I feel like I’d rather do something else, than write.

Am I a writer?

I’ve read where it helps budding writers to write everyday. To complete writing exercises. To keep a journal.

This is why I blog.

I have an event reminder set on the calendar on my phone, to jar my memory. To tell me to sit down and write. But, mostly, all I do is daily delete the reminder.

Am I a writer?

I have a list of items to write about. Things, subjects that I thought was interesting to me or would be interesting to others. I’ve completed a couple of those subjects, but I still have almost thirty things lurking around.

Deep down in my heart and soul, I love writing.

I’ve have always written something. 

Always have a notebook or two nearby.

But, am I a writer?

Leave a Reply

Categories

