Posted by: allaboutcheryl | January 10, 2016

Geek or Nerd?

Geek, noun, a person who is socially awkward and unpopular: a usually intelligent person who does not fit in with other people.
Nerd, noun, a person who behaves awkwardly around other people and usually has unstylish clothes, hair, etc. Or a person who is very interested in technical subjects, computers, etc.
I used to think that these had very different meanings. I thought a geek was better than a nerd. I often described myself as a computer geek, but I would never say that I’m a computer nerd.
Now, I see that there is very little difference between the two, except that the nerd has no taste in clothing or hair styles. 
So, which one am I? 
I am proud that I love technology, reading and learning. I am good with not knowing all of the latest TV shows, especially reality shows! Ugh! I am OK with rathering to spend time on my computer than on some mindless thing, just because everyone else is doing it (OK, so I also make up words. ‘Rathering.’)
Maybe I am a little of a nerd as well. Keeping up with the latest clothing styles is not high on my list. It’s more important that I am clean, neat and dressed appropriately for whatever occasion I find myself. 
So, what am I? A geeky-nerd? Or a nerdy-geek? 
LOL!! Who, but a geeky-nerd would google how to make this picture!?  

Leave a Reply

Categories

