Posted by: allaboutcheryl | November 30, 2015

November 26, 2015, Alpharetta Day 27, Away from Home Day 131

Thanksgiving Day.I am still going through the mixed emotions of not being with my husband but being here with my daughter. It’s a bittersweet feeling….
We watched the parade from Detroit online, America’s Thanksgiving Parade. It was awesome. The weather there was almost idyllic, a little rain early on. But then dry and mild for the duration of the parade. 

 The only thing that was I missing was the aroma of my Breakfast Casserole, baking in the background. I was going to make it, but Katryna didn’t want it. Maybe for Christmas, she said. I have that in my calendar. I can’t go the entire year without my casserole.

  
And the only thing that was missing from the parade was the performance of Fred Hill’s Briefcase Drillteam. To me they were the high point of the parade. But sadly, they preformed their last march in 2014. So, even though this year’s parade had lots of great groups and bands, I was still looking for my favorite marching businessmen. I hope someone will resurrect them; maybe Marching Business Interns…mmm?

  
We are going to dinner with my brother’s wife’s family. Her mother, sister, brother, cousins and friends and other family members. I took two of the six sweet potato pies that I made. I was very nervous. My family likes the style of pie that I make. But everyone thinks that there pie is the best one ever made. 
There was a HUGE traditional African-American spread. Turkey, dressing, ham, greens, fried corn, greens, candied yams, potato salad, tossed salad, cranberry sauce, corn muffins. Yum! I only ate one plate of food. I am trying to exercise portion control. 

  
My pies were a hit! WooHoo!! 
The television set was on and we watched the Detroit Lions trounce the Philadelphia Eagles with a score of 45-14. It was a great game!
After dinner, we entertained each other with karaoke. Even I participated. I sung  This Christmas, by Donny Hathaway. Everyone loved my choice so much, that we had to sing it again before we left.
It was a fun day.

Leave a Reply

Categories

