Posted by: allaboutcheryl | August 21, 2015

Thanksgiving Day

(Written 11-27-2014)
Who and what am I thankful for?Even though this is a man made holiday, it’s purpose is to be thankful for being kept and for provisions provided.

But when I am so caught up, addicted to the idol of facebook and bowing down to it. It does not allow me equal time to lift my head and worship the Father who has provided all for me.

The fact that I keep having conversations on my head, even now, attests to the seriousness of the problem.

God has already told me NO FACEBOOK AT ALL TODAY.

So when I am continuing to want to rationalize things or think, oh yeah, this shouldn’t count, I can post this. I have a huge problem.
Lord, this day, this time, this devotion is about You.

O give thanks unto the Lord, for He is worthy to be praised.

Thank You for forgiving me

Thank You for reminding me of the idols in my life that I need to tear down.

Thank You for another chance to worship You, in spirit and in truth.
You have asked me to manage you time

To speak words of direction to you.

Here it is. No FB for one week.

The same way FarmVille sucked you in, you are allowing yourself to be sucked in by fb time. You are like a hoarder. You are being buried alive and you are cutting yourself off from all around you, it is not manageable. If it were. We would not be having this conversation and you would not be still thinking the thoughts that you are thinking.
I am a jealous God! I will not have anyone before Me.

I will remove your idol and chastise you for your disobedience.

Now do you understand why it is taking your new phone so long to get here.

You would be consumed, out of control.

I am trying to save you from yourself.
Now heed my words.
How many times, Lord, how many times.

I guess I thought that I was stronger.

That’s thought the true intent with fb is to keep in touch with those you don’t have regular contact with.

But for me, it has become a thing of pride.

There it is.

I want to post deep thoughts or devotions.

I want to post entertaining pictures.

I want to look at the numbers of LIKES and COMMENTS to gauge my success or effectiveness.

Forgive me Lord.

I know that this will not be easy.

That satan wants to keep me from worshipping or spending time with You.

So I take pleasure in the week with You. I will lean into You when I am weak. I will ask You to direct my path and my time. Help me to hear and obey.

Thank You Lord!

Leave a Reply

Categories

