Posted by: allaboutcheryl | July 17, 2015

Watching my Words…

(Written on August 23, 2013)

Sometimes I can have a rather sharp tongue.Sometimes I don’t think before I speak.

Sometimes I feel that I am justified in what I am saying.

Sometimes I feel that the person deserves what I am saying.

Sometimes I feel I know more than that person so I can tell them what is best for them in no uncertain terms.

But….

I am also a very sensitive person.

How would I feel if those same words were directed towards me?

Not very well….

My devotional for today dealt with this scripture:

Psalms 64:8

Because of their tongue he will bring them to ruin…

Here King David is praying to the Lord God for deliverance from his enemies words. What the Lord was saying to me, was to watch the words that I speak, so my words do not harm others, but so that my words do not come back to harm me.

Like older people may say, to think before you speak.

I may have a good word of advice for someone, but it is all in how it is presented.

I can chose words to direct, motivate and correct without tearing down a person. When I chose softer words, I will be more likely to have the person listen to, think about, and then accept what I am saying.

Lord help my tongue!

Leave a Reply

Categories

