Posted by: allaboutcheryl | April 29, 2015

Day Seventeen: Your Personality on the Page

Today’s Prompt: We all have anxieties, worries, and fears. What are you scared of? Address one of your worst fears.

Today’s Twist: Write this post in a style distinct from your own.

While your voice is your own, and something that’s innately you, style is much broader. You might prefer long and complex sentences, or sentences with a lot of commas and layers building upon each other, or perhaps intentional run-ons and thoughts bleeding into the next and no pauses and lots of imagery and never-ending moments that run onto the next page.

Think back to your assignment on sentence lengths. What kinds of sentences do you prefer, or find yourself writing naturally?

(I normally write in short sentences. I will try to write this assignment in longer more complex ones)

What am I afraid of? What are my fears? I initially started to say that I am not afraid of anything. I may have concerns about things, but no fears. Why? Because in the Bible it says in 2 Timothy 1:7a, “For God has not given us a spirit of fear…” I do believe in and try to live by the word of God. But then the word bugs, rodents and creepy crawlers came to my mind.

Yikes! I’m a city girl and I am afraid of anything like that. If it has more than two legs, usually dark in color and has the speed of lightning, yep! I fear them.

Basically, everywhere that I’ve lived has been rodent free, except for the occasional ants, centipedes and spiders. I am not crazy about any of those, especially centipedes, too many legs and they are fast too. I was so happy to have a younger brother, who had no problem killing or capturing bug. Although part of his process including chasing me around the house with his ‘kill!’

As I got older, my fear of creepy crawlers did not diminish. But now, I am a single parent. I have to be brave in front of my daughter and son, so they don’t grow up to be a scaredy-cat like me. Needless to say, I kept a can of bug spray in almost every room. That’s the worst thing in the world, to see a bug. Run get the spray or the broom, to come back to only find that the bug refused to stay in one spot. And now has gone on his merry way.

I have spent hour searching, especially, in my bedroom looking for the missing bug. There’s no way that I could even think about going to sleep in my bedroom with a bug on the prowl. And I tried to be brave when I did have to kill something. On the inside, my heart is beating so fast and so hard, it is about to break through my chest, while I am sweating bullets under my arms. But on the outside, I am trying to appear cool, calm and collected. I was the parent, so I had to do it.

When my son got older, bug killing became his job, and fortunately, unlike my brother, my son did not scare me with the dead, smashed insect. Now my son is grown and living on his own. So now, who is my bug killer? My husband! A ram in the bush!

Responses

  1. I can so relate to that, I try to act stronger in front of my kids while internally I’m fearing the bugs..!

    • LOL!!!! Maybe my other fear is that after I have written my assignment, I can’t get the link to the post to work properly!

      • Lol.. No problem I’m sure fellow bloggers are interested to read your blog and wait till you get it fix😏

      • thanks…


Leave a Reply

Categories

