Posted by: allaboutcheryl | April 28, 2015

Day 16: Third Time’s the Charm

Today’s Prompt: Imagine you had a job in which you had to sift through forgotten or lost belongings. Describe a day in which you come upon something peculiar, or tell a story about something interesting you find in a pile.

On day four, you wrote about losing something. On day thirteen, you then wrote about finding something. So, today’s twist: If you’d like to continue our serial challenge, also reflect on the theme of lost and found more generally in this post.

The last time you were with me, I was going through boxes of long forgotten items. Trying to purge and discard. Keeping more than purging, when I ran across a box filled with old composition notebooks from my early writing days. I thought that I was finished, that I had gone through all of my boxes and there was nothing left to trash or keep.

As I stretched the kinks out of my back, I’d been sitting on the floor for quite some time, I spied a manila envelope pushed almost out of sight under my bed. What have we here? I was already pumped up after finding my early writings which led to a brief time of sitting at the computer to write about my feelings.

Maybe this envelope might contain more pleasant forgotten memories. I felt like I was on a roll! But when I reached over and slid the envelope towards me, I saw the markings of the return address. It was from the attorney who handled my divorce and this envelope contained my final divorce decree.

My heart started beating faster and my breathing quicken. A sense of dread came over me. Why am I keeping this? Why would I want to look at these papers again? These were not good times. I went through a bitter and difficult process, where my ex-husband challenged my capabilities as a mother and parent.

I sat with the envelope in my hands, turning it over and over again. Its always been so very hard for me to throw things away, fearing that I may need them again at some point. So I held onto useless, outdated and unnecessary things. And this envelope that I held in my hands was exactly that. And it bought back all the hurt, anger and disappointments that I felt then.

I took a deep breath and said, “Never again!”

I got off the floor and went to where my paper shredder awaited me.

Responses

  1. Excellent! I could feel the emotion in this and it was excellent!

    • Thank you for sharing! Thank God for paper shredders!!!

  2. I have been there with old stuff that needed to get out of my house. Isn’t it liberating to rid yourself of old documents and bad memories! You speak so well of your life and relationships now that all seems well.

    • Yes Ramona! It is and was liberating! It is more difficult to move forward and experience new people or new events while clinging to unnecessary baggage.

  3. Wow


Leave a Reply

Categories

