Posted by: allaboutcheryl | April 23, 2015

Day Fifteen: Your Voice Will Find You

Today’s Prompt: Think about an event you’ve attended and loved. Your hometown’s annual fair. That life-changing music festival. A conference that shifted your worldview. Imagine you’re told it will be cancelled forever or taken over by an evil corporate force.

How does that make you feel?images4HDEG8SG

Today’s twist: While writing this post, focus again on your own voice. Pay attention to your word choice, tone, and rhythm. Read each sentence aloud multiple times, making edits as you read through. Before you hit “Publish,” read your entire piece out loud to ensure it sounds like you.

Back in the early seventies, my absolute favorite singing group was the Jackson 5! I knew all of their songs by heart. And I had several of their albums and 45s (records). I loved them all, but especially Jackie Jackson, because he was my age.

When my younger sister and I found out that they were coming to our city, we were hysterical! We had to go! The Jackson 5? Here? There was no question. Our parents had to let us go.

And they agreed. Surprisingly.

They somehow managed to get us front row tickets. And to this day, I still don’t know how they did that.

Now fast forward to today’s prompt. ‘Imagine you’re told it (the show)will be cancelled forever.’

What?

Are you serious?

This is going to be the best day of my life.

My sister and I are actually going to see the Jackson 5. Our dad will drop us off then return to get us. So we’ll be on our own.

This is going to be so cool.

We even went shopping and brought new outfits to wear. We have film in our camera so we can take lots of pictures.

And now you are telling us that the show has been CANCELLED and will NOT be rescheduled!

I don’t want our money back. We don’t care what your reason is for cancelling the show.

You have ruined our perfectly good outing. This will never happen again.

How we got our parents to be so agreeable in the first place was a miracle.

Then they got us tickets. And not just tickets, but GREAT tickets!

And you are cancelling the show!

We, I, will never recover from this. I will always feel that I missed my one opportunity to be noticed by Jackie Jackson.

Who knows, I could have been his wife.

Responses

  1. I would say your voice definitely came through on this. Your disbelief was palpable! Great job – I can imagine how amazing it must have been to see the Jackson 5 live! They’re awesome 🙂

    • That was the best concert ever attended! I am so glad that it was not cancelled!!

  2. Loved that last line! (My favorite was Randy😉)

    • Thanks! You’d have to share Randy with my sister!

      • Lol!

  3. I loved the ending!


Leave a Reply

Categories

