Posted by: allaboutcheryl | April 21, 2015

Day Eleven: Size Matters (In Sentences)

Today’s Prompt: Where did you live when you were 12 years old? Which town, city, and country? Was it a house or an apartment? A boarding school or foster home? An airstream or an RV? Who lived there with you?

Today’s twist: pay attention to your sentence lengths and use short, medium, and long sentences as you compose your response about the home you lived in when you were twelve.

5310BurnsMoving day!

Oh my gosh!

I felt like we were millionaires!

We were moving from a tiny two bedroom ranch house, where six people lived, to a colonial brick house with four bedrooms! I was the luckiest girl in the whole wide world!

No longer would I have to share a bedroom with my three siblings. Crammed into a space, no bigger than a closet. Sleeping on the outside edge of the upper bunk. Waking up on the floor with the wooden safety rail beneath me. Wedged between the dresser and the bed. I’m surprised that I never hurt myself going down.

Our new house was nestled in a quiet middle-class neighborhood. The street was lined with mature oak trees that made a leafy canopy overhead. At one end of the block was a public library and at the other end of a park. When my dad stopped the car in front of our new house, my jaw dropped. It was beautiful.

There was a huge front porch that already held a squeaky, gliding swing couch. Perfect for sitting outside on warm summer evenings to watch the stars or the traffic that flowed up and down our street.

We entered into a small vestibule, a new word that I had to learn, and from there into the living room. It was like a being a dream. There was stained glass accent windows, wood columns dividing the living room from the dining room. An elegant chandelier hung where the dining room table would be placed beneath. The center for our family celebration meals and events. From the dining room to enter the den, you had to pass through a pair of French Doors. Am I going to get lost? So many rooms!

Off the dining room was the kitchen that had a walk in pantry and a broom closet. A broom closet, at our old house, the broom and dustpan were leaning together in a corner. Now everything had a place or a room.

There was a huge basement with two storage rooms. They were a little creepy and dark, but the main area was large enough for us to play in, even after we added an automatic washer and dryer. No more wringer type washer. No more scrub boards. It felt like Christmas!

We now had an upstairs with bedrooms and closets that had real doors, not just curtains. And the doors all had skeleton keys in them so we could lock the doors to keep out our prying sisters and later of surprise little brother! The bunk beds would be disassembled so my younger sister and I could share the large back bedroom. I found out later, in real estate terms, this was not a bedroom because it didn’t have a closet. The closet was actually in the adjoining room and you had to go through that room, my sister’s room to get to our bedroom. But we didn’t care. We were so happy!

This house was our home for many years. Filled with memories of good times as well as sad times. I enjoyed this exercised. I thought about things that had been long forgotten.

Thanks for allowing me to share with you!

 

Responses

  1. Very nice! I enjoyed all the beautiful descriptions of your home and felt your joy while describing it.

    • Thank you so very much! Home is where the heart is!

      • It certainly is! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

