Posted by: allaboutcheryl | April 19, 2015

Day 10, My Favorite Childhood Meal

Today’s Prompt: Tell us something about your favorite childhood meal — the one that was always a treat, that meant “celebration,” or that comforted you and has deep roots in your memory.

Free free to focus on any aspect of the meal, from the food you ate to the people who were there to the event it marked.

Today’s twist: Tell the story in your own distinct voice.

 

Christmas Day.

I am about six years old. Times were hard, but I didn’t know it. Money was scare. But where is Santa? Bills needed to be paid. But I still got up looking for my presents and toys.

There were six of us that my father had to provide for. Him and my stay at home mom, me and my three siblings. It was tough making ends meet, as I found out later in life. But my parents always managed to provide for us.

We never went without celebrating Christmas. Some years, however, things were scarcer than others.

This year, my sister and I got a tea set. We were fifteen months apart in age, so we shared a lot of things and this tea set was no exception. It was beautiful. Tiny, delicate (albeit plastic), decorated with blue flowers and curly-ques. We were so excited! We could not wait to have our first tea party.

Our mother washed the cups, saucers and tea pot, then carefully poured a splash of egg nog into the teapot. We were set!

We sat cross-legged on the floor and watched as she pour the precious golden liquid into our waiting, thimble-sized cups. The anticipation was killing us!

We held the cups to our lips and took the tiniest of sips as to not drink the egg nog in one consuming gulp. But with even doing that, our ‘tea’ was gone in about two sips. But we inhaled against the rim of the cup, trying to suck out any remaining egg nog that clung to it sides.

This was the best tea party we ever had!

And to this day, whenever I drink my first eggnog for the season, I remember that tea party and the sacrifices that my parents made for us.

Responses

  1. What a lovely memory. It’s great that your parents were still able to give you such great memories even though money was so scarce :).

    • Yes. We had plenty of love. And my mother was so creative in providing for us, that I never knew that we were lacking until I about eight years old. I wanted to take violin lessons at school and you had to rent the instrument, if you didn’t own one. My mother had to tell me, there was no money for that. That was my wake up call.


Leave a Reply

Categories

