Posted by: allaboutcheryl | April 18, 2015

My Persnickety Weight Loss Plan, Exercise Circuit Update

Ahhh, alas. Another blog to update.
My beloved exercise bike of 30+ years just conked out on me!
I think the chain has broken. I’ll need to get down on my hands and knees to check it out more closer. But I got my money’s worth out of it, if I am not able to repair it. I won’t replace it, because the plan is for us to move in the next year or so. And when that happened, we will have to REALLY purge and downside. So in the meantime, I will use what I have.
One other thing I forgot to add to my exercise circuit is my exercise ball. I don’t use it a lot, I am not really sure what to do with it. I used it more during rehab from my hip surgeries…maybe I’ll google it. Or if you have any suggestions, let me know…

Today I’ll talk about my in home exercise circuit. When I exercise, I try to get in at least 60-90 minutes a day. I keep my pedometer on so I can see how many steps I’ve taken. I am still doing the 30 Day Walking Challenge.

1. Indoors walking: I have a path that I use when I walk inside. I put on my exercise playlist that I’ve created and set the timer on my phone. I’ll walk in one direction until each song ends, then I’ll change and go in the opposite direction. So that I am working both sides of my body.

2. Wii: I start off with deep breathing and stretches and yoga poses. Then depending on how I feel, I’ll do the running, cycling or stepping program.

3. Floor exercises: I have an abs roller. It’s crazy because there are two gadgets with the same name??? So what I have is the one to help you do crunches. Then you can flip it over to do dips and push ups. I am not good with those. But I keep trying.

4. Stairs: when I don’t have a lot of time to work out, I will walk the stairs. Someone told me, that seven minutes of going up and down the stairs was the equivalent of walking for thirty minutes. So when I do the stairs, I always do ten minutes.

5. Stationary Bike: I have a very old bike. Nothing works on it but the pedals. But I still can use it to get my heart rate going.

6. Heavy weight bag: at our other house, I had the bag suspended from the ceiling. But in this house, the basement is finished so the best that I can do is to lean it in a corner. But it still gives me a good workout.

7. Outdoors walking: When the weather is favorable (and here in the Midwest, it hasn’t been), I can go outside and walk. We live about a mile from the park and about a mile from the post office. Both in opposite directions. So I can gauge my distance and my time.

8. YouTube: There are videos that I have in history targeting my arms that I will watch. I don’t like having ‘wings’ on my arms!!

So I have enough different things to do to keep me from getting bored or spending money on equipment or gym fees that I am not going to use consistently.

Leave a Reply

Categories

