Posted by: allaboutcheryl | April 9, 2015

Day Four: Serially Lost

Today’s Prompt: Write about a loss: something (or someone) that was part of your life, and isn’t any more.

Today’s twist: Make today’s post the first in a three-post series.

About ten years ago, I saw a local advertisement for a writing contest. Wow! I thought. Maybe I should enter. I’ve been writing practically all of my life, but had never shared my gift with anyone outside of my immediate circle. Now is the time to let the world know how good I am!

There were many categories to chose from, I selected ‘Short Story.’

I looked at the criteria and thought, YES! I can do this. This will be my launching pad to fame and fortune.

So, I sat down to my computer and I wrote. I thought, this is pretty good, reading my first draft.

But greatness comes in incremental steps, so I edit some more. Tweaked here and there. Reread it again.

Looked at the criteria. Did I meet all of them?

Yes. 

I finally have a finished, polished product.

I let a few people read it and they enjoyed it as well.

I felt like Ralphie in the Christmas Story, when he turned in his writing assignment to his teacher, Miss Shields. I just knew that judges would sing my praises! This would be the best short story ever received. 

I was on pins and needles, waiting to receive my congratulatory letter. Everyday I went to the mailbox.

Nothing.

Then, I finally saw in the magazine, the winners, runner-ups and honorable mentions.

Sigh.

My name was nowhere to be found.

I felt deflated.

All my wind and enthusiasm left my body.

I was ready to throw in my pen.

And I did.

For several years after that, I did not write. I felt that I was not worthy. I was delusional. I had no gift. I was wasting my time.

I felt like a big chunk of who I was had been ripped from me.

Oh, I know it was my fault. I set myself up to fail and to fall. I didn’t need my own advise; greatness comes in incremental steps.

This was my first step; the taste of defeat.

Responses

  1. Never give up. I used to love writing poetry. Then I just stopped. I think I got busy. Not really sure. Then, in blogging 101, we had to enter a blogging event. I wrote this poem I posted, http://mireillesjourneytohealth.com/2015/03/19/to-change-the-way-you-see-yourself-poem/ and I’m still so proud. I liked sharing my poem. Each week since, I’ve tried to write another good poem, but it hasn’t worked out. I still go back to trying each week. I’ll get one of these days.

  2. I’m so glad you are writing:) I totally know how you felt! Don’t stop.

    • Thank you Julie! I am so glad that we are here to encourage and motivate one another!

  3. I have found that writing is like a excercise …we need to warm up first, then practice before competing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

