Posted by: allaboutcheryl | April 7, 2015

Day Three: Commit to a Writing Practice

Today’s Prompt: Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?

Ok, so I thought of two songs right away.

With us just coming out of the Easter Season, I had to watch my all-time favorite movie, ‘The Greatest Story Ever Told.’ The last scene of the movie deals with Christ resurrecting from the grave. The disciples are realizing that He’s Alive! People are running and telling others that the Savior lives! And all while this is going on, ‘The Hallelujah Chorus’ is playing in the background. Hallelujah! Hallelujah. King of kings. And Lord of lords. And He shall reign and He shall reign, forever and ever!!! I am getting misty eyed just thinking of this, and what our Lord and Savior did for us on that day!

My second song is by Barry White. ‘The First, My Last, My Everything’ (is all that part of the title?). But I love this song. I feel like Barry was really enjoying himself when he recorded this. I get so much more energy out of this song, than any other ones by him or by most other performers. So whenever I hear this song, I want to get up and dance, or twirl around. And I definitely have to sing along with him. Now when I finish this exercise, I’ll have to go find that song and play it.

My third song favorite song is a Christmas Song. ‘This Christmas.’ And I love the version by Chris Brown, even though he’s not one of my favorite entertainers. I love this song because I love Christmas. I love the movie that this song was in. I love the feelings of glad tidings, good will toward men and peace on Earth are more evident at Christmas-time. That our Savior’s birth is being celebrated. I love the decorating my house. Turning my house into winter-wonderland. Putting up my tree. And having people come over.

And now the twist with this assignment is to write 15 minutes every day. That won’t be such a problem for me. I generally do that anyway. Well, on most days. But now I will use this twist to be more accountable.

BING!

My 15 minutes are up!

Responses

  1. Really great song selection. Don’t know the last one, but all sound good 😉 lily

  2. Beloved Cheryl !
    Sister in our Lord of True Love and Life !!!
    Thank you for your message about your favourite songs !
    What I need, when reading, is that you did take the time
    to search them on the net, and put them next to your story,
    by their links.
    So WE others could immediately ENJOY and fully understand YOU,
    by the selected hymns.
    Your co-writer, who also writes very much each day !!!

    • Thank you for your constructive words. I will do that in the future!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

