Posted by: allaboutcheryl | April 2, 2015

My Persnickety Weight Loss Plan, Day 60

 

Yesterday I went grocery shopping to get things for our Easter Dinner, which we will be having on Monday instead of Sunday. 

I know that you should never grocery shopping when you’re hungry, but I was only having water and tea during the day, so of course I was a tad hungry ( LOL!), but I still had to shop. By the time that I left the store, I had all that I needed for dinner, along with a few snacks for myself.

One of those snacks was a bag of roasted and lightly salted cashews. Yum!

When I was a child, I hated cashews! I hated the way they looked, with their funny curvy shape. I hated the texture of them in my mouth after I chewed them. This was not my favorite nut. But it was my mother’s favorite nut, so she bought them a lot.

As I grew older, I acquired a taste and even a liking for cashews. They still weren’t the top nut on my list, but they moved up quite a few notches. Then I found out about the nutritional benefits of eating nuts. And after experimenting with different ones, the cashew moved up, higher still, on my list.

In all honesty, the in-shell pistachio is my all time favorite nut. I love the work of having to pry it out of its shell before I can enjoy it. That process takes time, so I’m eating fewer of those, as opposed to just throwing a handful of already shelled nuts into my mouth.

But, I digress.

So, I bought a bag of roasted and slightly salted cashews from the store. 

Later that night while Jackie and I are watching our two favorite TV shows; Marvel Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and Forever, it’s now time for snacks.

I grab my bag of roasted and slightly salted cashews and pour out about a quarter cup of them. I’m not measuring, just eyeballing. But it looks right to me.

YUM!! They were delicious. 

We’re still watching our shows, but my portion of cashews is gone.

Shake. Shake. Shake.

My second helping of roasted and slightly salted cashews.

I really should have stopped here…..

One more serving of my roasted and slightly salted cashews.

UGH!! 

Next time, I’ll do better!!!

Responses

  1. Loosing weight can be so difficult! Dying to self. But isn’t that what Jesus called us to do?
    I had to give up wheat–it is an inflammation causer and my arthritis doesn’t like inflammation! It has been an interesting journey, but the Lord has helped me. Plus I have lost about 7 pounds. So, keep at it with the Lord’s help and don’t give up–even if you slip.

    • Thank you! I wish you continued success. It’s all about taking care of our temples of the Holy Spirit.


Leave a Reply

Categories

