Posted by: allaboutcheryl | March 25, 2015

Reflections

Wow!

I just reread some of my blogs prior to my bilateral hip surgeries. I know that I was in pain. I know that I hurt a lot. I know that I had reduced or limited mobility. But to read my words now. Now, almost two years after my second surgery, it’s just amazing.

There is so much difference now in who I am and what I can do.

I can walk as much or as long as I want to (as long as I have on comfortable shoes!). I can bend down to clip my own toenails. I can ride my bike. I can exercise. I don’t walk lopsided. I don’t have to use the heating pad. I don’t have to take pain pills.

Of course, I do have restrictions or limitations.

I can’t play full court tennis or basketball. Well, I didn’t do that beforehand, so that’s not a problem. I can’t run. But as long as I can walk, I’ll get my exercise that way. And I can’t cross my legs at the knees. But I really didn’t do that too much either. And now that I am past all of my post-surgery hip restrictions, I can cross my legs at the ankle.

I do have some apprehensions as to how far can I extend myself.

I am trying to stay reasonably active and fit so that I don’t stiffen up or anything.

And because the hips were repaired in two separate operations, there is a difference in them. The right hip, which was done first; I never ever feel any pain nor twinges or anything in it. But when I compare my range of motion with the left hip, it falls short.

With the left hip, I have a greater percentage of my range of motion, but every now and then, I get more tired in that hip.

Weird isn’t it?

But when all is said and done, I have no regrets, except for the fact that I waited so long.

Thank You, Jesus!

Leave a Reply

Categories

