Posted by: allaboutcheryl | March 22, 2015

My Persnickety Weight Loss Plan, Day 49

Within the past two months, I found out that two ladies whom I went to elementary and junior high school are dead. One of them died last year and the other died two years ago. 

I’d lost touch with them over the years, so wasn’t not like I was aware of any illnesses or anything. One of them I found out through a facebook page and the other, because I had a vivd dream about her and Googled her name, only to find her obituary. 

They are, were my age.

How does that happen in life?

Why them and not me?

Why am I still alive and not them?

Now that I think about it, there was another schoolmate who used to live two houses down from me. Her parents, now her mom, still lives there. I found out when she died about three years ago of pancreatic cancer.

When I think about this, I am sad. A little depressed.

It makes this Persnickety Weight Loss Plan seem trivial, foolish. Aren’t there more important things in life that I should be focusing, rather that trying to get into a smaller sized pair of jeans?

But ultimately, it is more than vanity. 

True, I could go out later today and get ran over by a Mack truck. What I am doing is trying to promote a healthy lifestyle. An alternative way of eating, everyday. What we put into our mouths or what we don’t put into our mouths, does matter.

So, until something beyond my control happens, then I will continue on this; My Persnickety Weight Loss Plan.

Rest on my sleeping friends.

Responses

  1. I try to focus on the way I feel. I like feeling healthy. We all will have to face the truth that one day we will not be here. I have lost many people who were dear to my heart. If I have to face illness one day I want to make sure that my body is in the healthiest form I can get it. I have learned by staying centered around my health brings about great joy when I do look in the mirror, but it’s not the mirror that I do it for.

    • Wise words to live by. Thank you for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

