Posted by: allaboutcheryl | February 28, 2015

Enjoying My Life

I remember when I was much younger, I would look at older, grayed people and think that I never want to be old like that!

Foolish youth!

I am so enjoying my life now. I am blessed by the Lord.

True, I’ve had my share of pain and difficult times, the death of my father in 1988 and the death of my mother in 2010, but through it all, He’s kept me.

God allowed me to have a job where I was able to take an early buyout at age 47, with my full (do not touch it yet) pension.

I did go back and worked at three more places, but the end of May 2011, I left corporate America for good! And I have been loving life!

I believe, no, I know that because we have been faithful and given our tithes and offerings to our local church, that God has taken what was left over and multiplied it and stretched it, so that we have been comfofortable.

I never knew that being retired would be like this!

I am so enjoying life!

I’m still busy.

I have things that I do, need to do, want to do every day.

I can’t imagine trying to fit a 9-5 job in my life now. It just wouldn’t work.

– I’m writing

– Connecting with my retired sisters

– Doing things at the church

– Studying God’s word

– exercising 

– Travelling

– Or whatever spontaneous thing that comes up

And now we’ve taken my mother-in-law in to live with us. That would not have been possible if I was working. But we’re making that work.

What I want to get able to now, is to give back to the community. We have a food bank in our city, and I’ve spoken with them about doing some volunteer work there. I thought I was going to start that the beginning of this year, but I have some things that I need to get in order in my life first. Maybe after Lent.

My schedule is really laxed and laid back. It’s 11:50 a.m., and I am still in my pj’s. I try to get up between 8-9. I read my devotional. Send out good morning texts to the kids, and then exercise.

Oops, I haven’t sent Ronnie a text. Let me stop now and do that.

OK. Done.

Where was I? Oh yeah, my schedule…. Then after I exercise (which is what I am doing now…one hour on the Stationary Bike, and I still have twenty minutes to go), I eat breakfast. Shower and dress. By then it’s about 2pm.

But if I have an appointment or something where I need to be out of the house earlier, then I’ll adjust my schedule. My kids laugh at me when I say that I’m just eating breakfast at noon! Today breakfast will be later cause it’s already noon and I’m not finished exercising.

Alrightie, I need to put this aside so I can concentrate and burn off some more calories. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

