Posted by: allaboutcheryl | February 24, 2015

I Must Love

1 John 4:21 (NKJV), “The commandment we have from him is this: those who love God must love their brothers and sisters also.”

Thi scripture really impressed me. The commandment is that I MUST love my sisters and brothers since I love God.

Not just tolerating them. But loving them enough when I am concerned about them and their welfare, their future, their eternity.

Pastor Smith has described love as seeing a need in another and then meeting that need, no matter what the cost is to me. That’s what Jesus did for us. He loved us so much, that He knew, that He had to die for our sins, to reconcile back to the Father. We couldn’t do it on our own. 

We ought to have that same sacrificial love for one another. Not to say that we have to physically die for one another, but that we need to put their needs above our own.

Sometimes we want to be selfish and hold on to things as if it really belong to us. But God is saying open your hands and release what I have put in them. When that is released in genuine love, He will replenish.

When I see someone depressed, give them love. When I see someone hungry, feed them. When I see someone lonely, be a friend to them.

I must love with the love of God.

Responses

  1. Beautiful sentiments


Leave a Reply

Categories

