Posted by: allaboutcheryl | February 11, 2015

My Persnickety Weight Loss Plan, Day 9

I fast on the 10th and 25th of each month, unless it falls on a Sunday or Christmas. Then I don’t fast on those days. Sometimes I’ll adjust to the day after or before. (You might be wondering why did I chose those two dates? They are significant because of the date that we celebrate the Lord’s birth. And my birthdate.) Or sometimes, I just won’t fast during that time. Anyway. Yesterday was my Fast Day. I try my best to keep it spiritual and not think that, ‘Oh. I’m not eating today. How much weight will I lose?’ Maybe if I was already at or below my weight goal. I wouldn’t think like this. But because since I’ve been fasting, I’ve always been weight conscious, so it does play on my mind. I’m to a point, where I want every little thing to impact my weight in a positive manner.

I’ve matured or grown in my fasting.

I used to really be bad. I wanted to fast, but I couldn’t give up food. Oxymoron! So I would fast from anything chewable. If I could swallow it without chewing, I feel like it was OK. So I still ate or drank or consumed; milkshakes, smoothies, loaded coffees and even peanut butter!
Then I moved on thin liquids; V8 juice, black coffee or tea. Now I can do just water. Mind you, this is just fasting from 6am-6pm. Maybe in a couple months, I’ll see if I can do a 24 hour fast. But the thing that I really need to focus on is the true intent of the fast. Why am I doing this? And how I am spending more time with God?

Responses

  1. I think fasting until 6pm is very reasonable. Good for you 🙂

    • Thank you. 12 hours is about all that I can do right now, after that, my thoughts are too focused on food. But I am praying for more strength!


Leave a Reply

Categories

