Posted by: allaboutcheryl | September 25, 2014

Elephant

Sometimes I get so tired. I just want to give up on my task at hand. Sometimes that task before me is so big, it seems that there is no way that I can manage it.
I know about the often used proverbial saying, “of how do you eat an elephant?” The answer is; one bite at a time. But sometimes even that one bite, seems large enough to strangle me. There is so much effort even in trying to slice a piece and then the fork is so heavy that I can barely lift it up to eat it. I want to just leave the ‘elephant’ alone. Maybe he’ll just go away or let someone else manage the ‘elephant.’
But, the Holy Spirit had to stop me. Slow me down, quiet me so that He could talk to me. so that I would have His undivided attention. So that I would hear His Voice and respond to His words.
I have made that ‘elephant’ so big in my life that I cannot see the Lord behind it, so desparately wanting to help me. Having the soluation to overcome my ‘elephant.’ But I am not even noticing Him.
Not only have I taken my eyes off the Lord, but I have allowed something or someone to come between Him and me, and that is known as idolatry. Putting something else in God’s place, allowing something/someone to be between God and me. He said “for you shall worship no other god, because the Lord, whose name is Jealous, is a jealous God.” Exodus 34:14 (NRSV)
So instead of focusing on my problem or the magnitude of it. I need to concentrate on my God, who is bigger than an problem that I have.

Leave a Reply

Categories

