Posted by: allaboutcheryl | September 18, 2014

Random Thoughts

I admire people who are focused. Those who know what they want out of life and waste no time in working towards or achieving their goal.
I have goals too. I have things that I aspire to do. Things that I want completed. Things that I have on my Bucket List, which my daughter has renamed as my To Do List.
But what I lack is motivation, perseverance, motivation and direction. I have all these projects, thoughts and ideas swirling around in my head, but nothing is taking life. Nothing is solidifying into a tangible result.
Even like this blog, I had such high hopes for it. That it would be an outlet for me, a release. That I would have a loyal following of my entries. But the truth be told, I am not even loyal to myself. I don’t write every day. I have thirty pages left of editing in my novel, but it seems to be the hardest thing to get those last pages finished.
But inside of me, this is not who I am nor what I even want to be. I want to be accomplished. A person who completes the task they have started. I want to be a role model or a motivator for others. I thought that I could have this blog pegged to a particular theme or direction. No I don’t. I don’t have anything, but random thoughts.
I am not a quitter. Sometimes I get sidetracked or derailed. Sometimes, I get lost for a day or a couple of months or longer. But I eventually come back.
(OK.I just woke myself up with my snoring!)
That’s sad, that I even put myself to sleep.
Lord, help me.

Responses

  1. Just keep at it, a little at a time. Have you ever read Anne Lamott’s Book, Bird by Bird? Try it – it has good advice and encouragement for writers.

    • Thank you! I just found it. Bird by Bird. I love even the title. I read the synopsis. Can’t wait to read the book.

      • Great!

  2. You’re random thoughts sound like a conversation I often have with myself.LOL I’m so proud of you!!! Keep making one step and He’ll make two!

    Love & Blessings

    • Thank you Sheena! That means a lot to me!

  3. We learn about ourselves, random thoughts…you are just discovering who you are…God wants you to know yourself and you will know him…in your random thoughts…he is there. Keep writing.

    • Thank you Gwen! It’s a day by day journey.

      • Yes and isn’t it wonderful when we know who directs our journey when we comply.


Leave a Reply

Categories

