Posted by: allaboutcheryl | July 24, 2013

Grocery Waste!

overstocked pantry

I always imagined myself to be a thrifty shopper. I watched for sales, use paper and electronic coupons and took advantage of in-store sales. I kept a running grocery list of the things that I was out of or that I needed to buy. I went to three different stores (it used to be five!!) to get the best deal. I froze milk and bread. I bought meats in bulk so I could portion it out and to freeze for later use.

But with all that…why did I have so much in my pantry with expired ‘Use By’ dates?

I thought that I was rotating my canned and boxed items so that would not happen. I was keeping a list so I would not come home from grocery shopping to find that I already had four cans of tomato sauce, after I just bought four cans of tomato sauce!!!

I bought things that I thought that I needed or was going to use in the near future.

So why did I have cans of this and boxes of that, that were 2-3 or more years expired!!!

YIKES!!!

I started clearing one side of my pantry, one shelf at a time. There was no way I wanted my husband to see how much I was throwing out; how many dollars in grocery money that I allowed to spoil and expire.  I was getting frustrated with myself!

So far, I have only purged about one third of my non-perishables and I still have to tackle the freezer in the basement. However, I’ve learned an invaluable lesson…I need to really watch my shopping habits. Now that I am just cooking for me and my husband with an occasional carry out to my son or to my mother-in-law, I don’t need to buy the same why I did before the kids started leaving home and Jackie and I were both working and taking bag lunches every day.

I will continue to use my on-going grocery list. I will continue to watch for sales and use every coupon that I can, but I will make absolute certain that I need an item before I buy it. And if there is any doubt, I will error on the side of caution and leave it on the shelf.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

